Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

KNIT AND KNATTER

Another busy day for me and another first - I actually drove myself to the Knit and Knatter Group this morning, the first time I have done this since my back operation.  I lost some of my confidence with driving, but decided that I needed to just "bite the bullet" or should I say "drive the car" and get on with it.

The traffic was very busy, but I managed - in fact, I think it was even busier on the way home, but again, I managed, even when several times someone cut me up - but all was well.

We had a good time knitting and nattering - and I know I have spelt the Natter incorrectly, but somehow, I feel it should be natter spelt with a K!

Lesley very kindly showed me how to pick up stitches around the front, back and the other front on a cardigan - I had told her I wasn't very good at doing this, so she said that when she next had some picking up to do, she would bring it and show me.  She is very organised and had stitch markers and little bits of wool to mark the numbers too - so now I know and the next time I need to do this, I will feel more confident - if not, I will call Lesley!

The right hand side of my collage shows Lesley after she has picked up her stitches, with Dianne behind crocheting a shawl.  I said I only wanted their hands and the work they were doing, so they were relieved.

Lesley also let me use her circular knitting needles to try them out - and again, once I was shown how to use these, I found them very good.  At least it will stop me suddenly shouting "I've lost a needle" and then Mr. HCB stopping what he's doing to try and find it for me!

Hilary had made two amazing cakes and instead of paying, those who came into the café could have a piece free together with a free cup of coffee - I tried the vanilla sponge which was delicious and the Dundee cake looked good too, but it was only one piece free, so all I tried of the Dundee cake was a few crumbs, which were good!  

Then Hilary sat down with me whilst Lesley went into the kitchen and we chatted about the socks she was making - you can see them on the left of the collage.  They look far too complicated to me, but Hilary was obviously well used to doing them as she was knitting and nattering away to me.  

The Community Fridge won't be open again until the second week in January, so I hope all those who come will have a great Christmas.  I know they will miss the friendly faces they see week by week, but we will look forward to seeing them again in the New Year.

We are getting ready to go away and will be off first thing in the morning to collect Amanda - we will be praying tonight that the wind drops, because there appear to have been problems over the bridges into and out of Wales.  However, should we get stuck anywhere, we will have enough food and drink to keep us going, but we hope that won't be necessary - at least until we arrive at our destination!  

Take care and stay warm, cosy and well.  M xx

P.S.  I did well with my knitting, despite having a lesson and knattering - see extra shot - can't say who this is for - it's a surprise!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.