flavia13

By flavia13

THE BAY COMMUNITY SINGERS

A pleasant day today.  Weather still grey but at least it wasn't raining.

We all went into town this morning, just for last minute bits and bobs.  We 
parked in Kents Bank Road car park and I could hear singing, so on investigation discovered that The Bay Community Singers were out singing Christmas Carols.  So the boys went off to do what they needed to do and I stood and listened to them for a little while.  Those of you that know Gladders will know that when they used to live in the area Mrs Gladders was a member of this group - in fact she is still in the photograph that they use on their website, if you know here she is easy to spot.

It's not the best photo and it is unfortunate that the car you can see just had to park right there, they weren't doing anything wrong, just bad timing really.  

I think the whole of Grange's dogs were out today, so I  had a lot of fun  making friends with new dogs (Fletch is still No.1 of course).  

On popping into Daisy Roots, our local book shop - I found a book called "The Lucks of Cumbria" and I kept coming back to it, flicking through it and had some great things in it.  I then discovered that it was written by of my Grange Photographic friends - so I had to buy it.  

After all that we went into Thyme Out for our Brunch (basically a bacon bap) and coffee.  It was very busy today.  As was Grange.  It was lovely to see so many people out using the local shops, not just the food ones.  This is what Christmas should be like - it gives a great sense of community.  I do buy on-line myself but only those things that I can't get locally as I feel very strongly about supporting local businesses - the thought of losing them all and the spirit of the community is awful. 

We are now just home.  We're going to watch Shaun The Sheep's "The Flight Before Christmas this afternoon, followed by A Christmas Carol - not sure which version yet, possibly Alistair Sim or George C Scott as they were the very best.

We weren't meant to be visiting Mum before Christmas, mostly due to the traffic, but she's not feeling too well at the moment so I think I will pop over tomorrow, if the traffic isn't horrendous, just for a coffee and to pick up a couple of things there for us.  Maybe I will see my sister as well, but then I will be there early, so she may not have surfaced yet!!!!

That's all from me for now - do to take care and stay safe.

I WOULD LIKE TO WISH ALL BLIP FRIENDS A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A PEACEFUL AND HAPPY NEW YEAR.  I will be posting over Christmas but just in case some of you can't make it on here I am sending out some wishes now.  Do forgive me if I repeat myself over the next couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.