Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A family day

Last night Luke, Gavin and I enjoyed the lamb curry I made - it was delicious, even if I say so myself, far better than a take away curry. Tommy decided to stay the night at Inca's house and so he and Adam both only arrived this morning, but in good time for our family breakfast at The Ivy. We had a delicious breakfast and when we came out I was taking photos of the boys when someone about to enter the restaurant offered to take some photos of all of us, as seen here. I was pleased to have this shot, despite being photo bombed by an enormous polar bear!

When I was looking for family photos to send in my Christmas email I realised that I did not have one recent photo of the five of us - hard to believe I know, but the photos of the boys usually have the girlfriends in the photo or it's a case of me taking photos of Gavin and the boys, so I must remedy that. Next Christmas will look a bit different, hopefully Adam will be back from the USA but Tommy will probably be in Australia with Inca (who is doing a vet placement there). 

After breakfast we went home to change, as this year for the first time I was joining Gavin, Luke and Adam for their traditional Christmas golf game. There was a very strong and cold wind today - it wasn't that cold when out the wind but when the wind was blowing it was another story - we all wore woolly hats which did help. We knew we would not finish 18 holes so played the first nine holes, had a break for a cup of tea, and then when we came out to play the second nine the wind was worse so we decided to go home. I played better than expected, although on one par four I managed to land in all three bunkers, while Luke scored an eagle (two below par) on that hole - he drove the green and then managed to sink the ball with one putt. We scored stableford points and I beat Gavin and Adam, only possible as my handicap is so high.

Back home I started on the supper as I was making a chicken casserole dish that takes some time. Luke went climbing with Tommy (at the climbing gym).

Now it is nearly supper time - there is always a debate around the dinner table when the boys are home - during golf the debate was 'do protests achieve anything' more specifically can they cause the ruling government to change their minds on a controversial policy, thinking along the lines  of the Palestinian/Israeli conflict. I wonder what the dinner debate will be....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.