Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas eve

Today was another very windy day, but it was not cold - at 16C it is thought this could be the warmest Christmas we have ever had, as usually temperatures are around 6C or so at this time of year. We had a walk with Xena in the woods this morning, where we met another couple who had three Vizslas so Xena had a good time playing with them.

We had booked to go to 'Christmas brunch' at Gavin's golf club today, but actually it was more of a lunch - they called it a brunch as it was from 11am to 1.30pm as they wanted to close early today so that their staff could enjoy Christmas Eve at home. The food was amazing, a decadent spread of starters consisting of all types of prawns, smoked salmon, oysters, cold meats, salads etc and then the main course of choices of roast ham, roast lamb, a duck dish another seafood dish and all the veggies - it was delicious. There was another table of tantalising puddings but I did not even look at them as I was too full!

When we got home I set up my backgrounds and lights as tomorrow I want to take some family photos, but for today I practiced on Xena! The hat is AI produced as I don't actually have a Christmas hat and I think it worked quite well.

The boys have been playing snooker all afternoon and just enjoying being in each other's company again. It has been a lovely lazy kind of day.

For Christmas eve I have planned all sorts of filling snacks like smoked salmon and blinis, duck pate and bread, baked camembert, cocktail sausages etc but quite honestly I cannot eat a thing after that lunch. However the boys are 'starving' so I had better go get this ready!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.