suehutton

By suehutton

The Tree

I spent most of the morning stuffing calendars into envelopes with cards and notes. Something of a relief to finish. As in past years, Len complained about the cost of postage.

Early afternoon, I took a calendar and chocolate for the children to Christina. I shall circulate the other calendars to neighbours with Len's help tomorrow morning.

It took ages to get Basil equipped with harness and coat and for me to put on shoes and coat but we finally got out with Cecily intending to post a card and go on to visit Colin. The next available collection is Wednesday morning.

I decided to go down Kirkhill. Twenty m from Colin's, Basil's lead got wrapped round the back wheel and fender. Basil was at risk of being squashed against the wall. I couldn't move Cecily so I released Basil from his lead and walked him down to Colin. Luckily, Bill, Colin's friend of 50 years arrived to drive him to Doncaster for Christmas. Between them, they got Cecily moving.

After a swift G&T, I got on Cecily again with Basil between my feet. Colin insisted that Basil should travel like that henceforth, but the poor sausage jumped off when we reached Forest Street and I couldn't stop Cecily. I was afraid that I would run over Basil. A very kind lady stopped her car in the middle of the road to help me free him. I think he prefers to look up at me when travelling rather than straight ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.