JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Solstice sunset

The Solstice, according to the very nice website of the Greenwich Observatory, was at 03: 27 GMT, so this morning a heavily overcast sky obscured the solstice sunrise, and today was the shortest day of the year. I'm not sure if that makes this the solstice sunset, or if last night's, being closer to the exact time, is the one that counts. No matter, today's was wonderful. I could see the orangey light in the sky to the south and east, craned my neck from windows trying to look west, peered through trees and popped out to the road a couple of times, but I was expecting an imminent delivery and couldn't run along to the lane, my prime sunset viewing spot, with my camera. By the time the van had been and gone the light was frustratingly low, though the sky was still stunningly beautiful, so the photos are all rather smudgy and blurred - this was a fifth of a second at ISO 1600 (the maximum on this old camera). 

S was here with J today, helping her to paint and providing skilled massage for her uncomfortable arms and shoulders. I seized the opportunity for some sorting out and cleaning and made another batch of mince pies; and by the end of the day I knew that all the five packages I despatched yesterday had arrived on schedule, which was a welcome surprise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.