An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Salisbury's Best Dressed Cyclist??

Is this Salisbury's Best Dressed Cyclist?

A contest early this morning (from 8 to 10 a.m.), with free breakfasts to all who arrived by bike, from this particular food outlet, had a nice flow of participators, including this dapper gent!

I was anointed (& appointed!) photographer and I cast my new Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8 lens over all the contestants and goings-on, including an instant bike repair 'doctor' giving free checks and advice and a local cycle shop showing their latest wares, plus the cycling groups that I have been active with in the past.

Rain (largely) held off and it was down to me that I had them posing here, the organiser suggested against a plain, boring wall. These actually look nicely cultured and continental, with the warm lights and goodies in the window looking very lovely and offsetting nicely our 'characters'.

Judging (from my edited pics) will be at 3pm and I won't know if this chap will have won, though I do know he has a very good chance - I suppose I'm quietly rooting for him as he was impeccably attired and caught many an envious eye!

Editing all the pics from the 2+ hours has taken a fair time, as the computer has been running slower and sl-ow-e-r...and now it is painfully lethargic, needing a rest and re-boot (up the arse!) later. I'm again behind with viewing and commenting on other's journals - this particular paid job and other worries have been distracting me somewhat. Hopefully I can get back to normal, now.

I used fill-in flash and a wide f3.5 aperture as standard for all these sorts of portraits - a formula that worked very well.

Might be worth looking in LARGE

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.