An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'Lamb's tails'

Firstly, to put you all out of your collective misery, the dapper chap in yesterday's Blip DID win the 'City' category in Salisbury's Best Dressed Cyclist competition.

There were also 'Vintage' and 'Retro' categories, both winners were also possible Blips yesterday but I'm glad I went with who I did and which was a welcome return for me into the Spotlight. It seemed to catch folk's imagination and which for me, was just a routine snap, appealed to many - thanks very much! Our chappy (Andy) won a professional service for that very swish red racing bike of his!

Back to this one - many might recall the bright red Thousand Sheep installation at Salisbury Arts Centre and I always intended to return, by its closure at the end of June - but to use a longer lens and differential focus, to accentuate the numbers. These are the individual strands, not actual tails, of course. The colour has not been upped but the strong backlighting from the warm spotlight caused the camera to want to underexpose, so this was manually overridden.

I had kind of intended to go to the Summer Solstice at Stonehenge but weather forecast and actually getting there (!) problematic and then I had kind of intended to snap some folk who had come into town afterward, as they generally stand out like a very sore thumb, from the shopping pensioners! But a general lack of any energy on all fronts lead me to an easy option. Yes, a static arts installation!

Lens is the lovely sweet Nikkor G 85mm f1.8

Look here for LARGE

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.