Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Looking east ...

No, there's no star, but there is a glimpse of the moon, emerging from the gloom of the scudding clouds. And I'm looking out over the water waiting for our older son, who's just arrived in the ferry queue and is waiting as the gale shakes his car...and I'm writing this now, instead of just after the Midnight Mass, because I shall be on the road, God willing, heading over the Rest and Be Thankful (which is open at the moment) to bed in the not-so-small hours of Christmas morning.

There's a humorous conversation going on among church people on Facebook about the supposedly overlooked Biblical fact that Jesus wasn't born on a Monday. You can see why such an idea should arise - we've all been to church already this morning, celebrating the last Sunday in Advent, and we'll be back at 11.30pm for the first Eucharist of Christmas Day; some people will also have fitted in a carol service, or a Christingle service for children, or whatever, around teatime. And then they'll be back for the morning celebration tomorrow ... by which time we'll be, I hope, just waking up. In Edinburgh.

Logistically it's been ... interesting. I've forgotten which case my night things are, and there are bags of presents everywhere. I hope the car boot is capacious. There's also my Christmas cake, a jar of my cranberry sauce, the old table spoon (my grandmother's) without which I can't measure anything accurately. (Don't ask). If I take any decent photos before midnight I have room for a few extras. 

Meanwhile, as Advent ends, here's another listen: https://youtu.be/YCrMeUbRZoE?si=5wPahNrLitssmYxV

Christmas Greetings to you all when the time comes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.