High Buttercup Meadow

Buttercup Bonanza

Posting this a day late again, taking a little break in what is going to be another very long day. I've created a monster. The vision is great and the design, if I dare say so, works really well, but I think that actually points to the problem. It works too well. It delivers almost too much. The devil is always in the detail and there is a hell of a lot of detail in this application. I'm drowning in it right now.

The weather yesterday was quite beautiful. It was a real summer's day and very pleasantly warm. There was some cloud around during the afternoon but that cleared in the evening to leave almost entirely clear skies. I again extended my commute home, again by more than originally intended, to the extent that I didn't arrive until almost 10pm. It was bliss. I really didn't want to get back and have to face the computer again.

I encountered another amazing sight too. Climbing up out from Stanbury on the moor road to Laneshawbridge, just around Watersheddles Reservoir, there were the most extensive swathes of bog cotton that I've ever seen. It seems to be flourishing in the high moorland bogs every bit as much as the buttercups are in the fields. Vast tracts could be seen dappled in white as far as the eye could see. I took loads of pictures, some of which I was pleased with, but I failed to capture the shot I was really after. I'm going to defer in the hope that I'll get another chance.

This, however, is perhaps the buttercup meadow shot I've been after for a while now, taken high up from beside the old Skipton road from Colne, just before it plunges precipitously into Carleton. This was taken around 9pm. It was wonderful to be bimbling about in this field, some 15 miles from home, knowing that I still had plenty of time to get back in daylight. I love these long, long evenings of light.

Thanks again for being such great blipmates at a difficult time. Back to the grindstone now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.