wrbradley

By wrbradley

Things Change?

As I sat up in bed this morning I developed a pretty clear idea of what photograph I would take, I even made some notes.  It would have a theme and tell a story.  The theme was Present and Past.  My concept was to take a photograph of the bus stop in the village square looking towards Gourley's Pub and beyond that the old railway goods shed, hence the theme present and past.  The photograph should enable the view to envisage what the past might have looked like.  

Then things changed, I had taken 23 frames and whittled them down to just 7 frames and among those was this image.  A man and his dog entered the frame and it was clearly the best image, but it destroyed my theme and the story it would tell, it was no longer about the present and the past, it was now more about the man and his dog.

One one other change was the fact that its colour, I wanted monochrome but I did like how the morning winter sun was reflecting in this image, even the light under the bus stop roof.  Taken with the lens wide open it slightly blurs the background.  Some things I did not like, this was the only frame where the top of the bus stop and the top of the pub's roof that were cut off, but you can't have everything!

So this is the story behind this image, I trust you all had a good Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.