Living my dream

By Mima

Damp harvests

The weather has barely improved today. It’s mizzled almost all day. At least there are no thunderstorms and associated downpours :-)

And so I donned my waterproofs once again. They had dried on the inside and out, hanging indoors overnight. For two hours I picked the rest of the raspberries, peas and sugarsnap peas. The waterproofs will need to hang up to dry indoors once again tonight.

I dashed into town to get a couple of important items and to visit the library. As I parked, Marian pulled in behind us. What a lovely surprise. We picked our books and then repaired to a cafe for a spontaneous catch up over coffee and friands. It was wonderful.

Once home I  put the sugarsnaps and the raspberries into the freezer, and realised that I have a lower frozen layer already full of fruit from previous years. 

Last summer I promised myself I’d pull out two blackcurrant bushes and a redcurrant bush. In winter I couldn’t bring myself to do it.

This summer I am promising myself I’ll remove one of the two rows of raspberry canes. I hope I can hold myself to it come winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.