suehutton

By suehutton

Prezzie Boxes

Boxing Day, so Basil and I went for a walk. He went for a walk, I rode on Cecily. I'm pleased to say there were no 'incidents' today.

I'd finished my Christmas cake and put it in the oven asking Len to turn the oven off at ten to three. I set the timer on my phone and set off. Halfway through the walk to Garendon Estate, the timer went off and I phoned Len, twice. Needless to say, there was a smell of burnt cake when I returned. I shan't bother to ice it. I'm hoping it's just the exterior which is burnt.

Others were taking a Boxing Day stroll as well. I met three ladies from Loughborough at the motorway tunnel who were exploring. I explained that their onward path would only take them on to a housing estate so they said they would go a little further and then retrace their steps. One of them was wearing a badge declaiming 'Free Palestine.'

Since we hadn't had our own Christmas dinner, I cooked a chicken with side accompaniments of roast potatoes and parsnips, pigs in blankets, carrots and broccoli. It was the first roast dinner I'd managed to make in ages and it was delicious.

Today's photo is a composite of photos taken on my walk. See the originals in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.