Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Midwinter walk

At last the rain has stopped, and winter sunshine promises a walk in Eryri - after visiting G’s mum in Bangor that is. At 94, her mobility is compromised, and, despite invitations, she’s happier to stay in her supported housing flat than face the upheaval of Christmas elsewhere. But she’s very excited about the visit from her grandchildren and sits in court as each couple has their allotted half an hour with her. Finally, there’s the compulsory phototograph of Nain (grandmother) with the boys and partners. 

We drive through the mountains, passing car parks overflowing as people take Boxing Day outings to their favourite spots, bypassing these in favour of the peace and quiet of Cors Bodgynedd.  We were last there at the end of October when the autumn colours were much in evidence (https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3165619311209349773 )Today, it’s a bleaker winter landscape, vibrant colour bleached by season and sky - a watery winter sun just visible through grey cloud. 

Unsurprisingly, the last few days seem to have caught up with me and I’ve been in pain all day, so returning home I head for bed - resting for a few hours before the next social engagement. Tonight, Rob and Terry host their mega ‘dinner for 21’ event complete with quizzes, games and general jollity. I’m certainly not at my best for this, but take it easy and observe rather than take part! 

Tomorrow our guests will leave - a moment I always dread. But at least I’ll have a chance to catch up with journals! 


Edit: my main was a view across the lake towards the watery midwinter sun; but I’ve changed it for the four youngsters posing in the landscape.  Now they’ve left, I realise that it’s the joy of their company I want to remember! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.