There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Dandelions in an All-Day December Rain

You know, I typically spend some of the time between Christmas and New Year's reflecting on my life and the year that has passed. And in thinking about it, I've realized a pretty obvious thing: With all of our family's losses, this was probably the worst year of my life.

I took my walk to Autumn Meadow Park, and from there, back up around Stonerow to home. This is a picture of a pair of dandelions I found at the little park, covered in what turned into an all-day rain (and then a several-day December rain). I kneeled down in the rain under my pink umbrella to get the shot. 

It's a sort of time-lapse double selfie, I realized. The little yellow flower is me at the start of the year, when I began it all bushy-tailed and blooming. Do you see the wet-head one above the yellow one? That is a visual representation of ME at the END of the year. Um, yep. Definitely looking a little the worse for wear.

This was my song to finish my walk the rest of the way home: Garbage, with Only Happy When It Rains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.