David J. Rose

By djrose007

You can take the girl out of Glasgow........

......But you can't take the Glasgow out of the girl.
Right up to the end her Catholic faith was so strong that she was holding my hand yesterday and almost incoherently saying 'Mary'. I thought that she thought I was the Virgin Mary but Marlane said she was asking me to say the Rosary, Hail Mary, with her, which I did of course despite the fact I'm not a Catholic. Funnily enough I did know it from all the years of taking Betty to mass.
Marlane stayed with her until the early hours of this morning. My bladder woke me up at 4am and I popped in to see how she was, only to find she'd achieved her final bucket list item, to rise up to meet Jesus Christ.
She has left us but oh what memories we have of her and also my Father in Law, what an amazing couple they were.
I'm not sure of the origin of the photo of her, I think one of my Sisters-in-Law put it on Facebook, it was so her before she started losing her mind.
I have also taken down my 'MERRY CHRISTMAS' flag, the 70mph wind was giving it a beating. I replaced it with the Scottish Saltire, at half mast, in memory of Betty.
My sister-in-law, who lives in Chicago, reminded me that Betty always said to them that I was her favourite Son-in-Law, I am honoured that she thought of me in that way, much to the annoyance of the other 3 Son's-in-Law I expect HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Rest in Peace Betty, my Favourite Mother-in-Law.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.