Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

View from the apartment

So today did not go according to plan. Last night I had a very restless night's sleep with terrible pain in my left lower leg, and this morning when I got up I could barely walk. The boys were up very early and on the mountain to ski with the first lift up, but Gavin and I had groceries to get and planned to join them later. After breakfast we went grocery shopping and I could barely walk around the supermarket, by the time I came out I was nearly in tears as the pain was so intense. Of course my mind went into overdrive and I was worried I had a possible deep vein thrombosis from sitting for over 12 hours in the car yesterday, so we decided I should go see a doctor just to check (my mum had one so I was being a bit panicky about it).

Swiss doctor surgeries are very different from the basic NHS ones in the UK, they usually have a good range of equipment in their rooms so there is no need to go to a hospital (well the ones here are like that). I walked in without an appointment, and I did wait a while but I was then taken for a blood test to check for thrombosis markers. In about 15 minutes we had the result and the markers were negative, but the doctor wanted to make sure so I was taken to another room where she did a sonar scan of my left leg. She detected no deep vein thrombosis but thinks the pain in my leg is caused by my lower back problem, maybe a trapped nerve which has caused poor circulation in my leg. She prescribed a very strong anti-inflammatory and also wants me to inject myself with a prophylactic for a few days to prevent the poor circulation in the shallow nerves from becoming a deep vein problem.

After taking the anti-inflammatory my leg pain is easing and I can walk better. But it has meant that I did not go out today, no photos were taken other than this one from the apartment. 

Gavin took Xena for a walk after we finished at the doctor, and then went up the mountain to ski, although it was already quite late and the visibility was not at its best. The boys had a great time skiing although they are disappointed that while the ski runs are perfect, the off-piste skiing has gone crusty and is not the soft powder Adam had about 2 weeks ago when he was here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.