Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunrise

I slept much better last night and this morning I was pain free in my leg, thank goodness for that. I have not taken anymore anti inflammatories as I don't like taking any form of medication if possible, but I did self-inject myself with the DVT prophylactic. It's interesting self injecting, I know people with diabetes and some other medical conditions are used to it, I did not think I could do it as I hate injections and alway have to look away when blood is drawn from me - but I managed to grab some skin on my belly and just stuck the needle in - it stung and I now have two round blue bruises on my belly from the injections yesterday and today.

Today the boys were on out the apartment in time to get the 7.45am bus to the ski lift and they have had a fabulous day skiing. Gavin and I planned to walk Xena and then go up later but I changed my mind about skiing so Gavin went by himself while I had an a long walk with Xena (I needed to walk for my back, the doctor said as much walking as possible). I was never a very good skier and I have lost my confidence with skiing, mainly because of the enforced break during the pandemic years when we could not come here in winter due to the travel rules. If I do ski the conditions have to be perfect - sunny skies, perfect snow, and not busy with reckless skiers - and today I could not convince myself that the conditions were good enough, when in fact it turns out that they actually were quite perfect. So tomorrow Gavin and Luke planned that he will walk Xena in the morning and I will go up the mountain early with Luke - Luke qualified as a ski instructor after he finished school so I should be in good hands! I probably won't sleep tonight worrying about it....

As sunrise is so late these days I did see the sun rise over the peaks this morning, as can be seen here. It was a lovely sunny day today with blue skies later on, as seen in the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.