Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Skiing

We cannot remember a December like this with so little snow. Some years there has been too much snow, it would snow all day and we could not ski due to no visibilty. I am not a very good skier, having learnt when I was forty, so these days I only like to ski if the conditions are suitable - not too cold and the snow must be in good condition. I have also find that the Covid years of not skiing have affected my skiing confidence - yet today I decided to I should get out and ski.

We took Xena for a long walk this morning, and then only left to go skiing just before 11am. It was not cold, it was -3C at the top of the mountain which is quite warm when you are all dressed up in layers and ski clothes. But the snow was extremely icy, and the pistes were full of moguls (big bumps) which are hard to ski over. I did not enjoy it, and skiing in such difficult conditions (for me) did nothing to add to my confidence. After lunch I decided not to ski the long run back down to the village but to rather get the gondola back down - it's usually empty coming down but today it was full - I think everyone realised that route would be treacherous in these conditions. The boys and Pip skied down to the village and reported it was very icy and horrible. We all want to come back when conditions are better.  

I took my camera up the mountain with me and snapped a few images of the ski slopes as can be seen here. In the extras a winter tree I saw on the walk this morning.

Tommy arrives tonight - he is only here for 3 days and plans to ski non stop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.