Lost in Thought

By steveng

What does one buy for the woman who has ...

Several sewing machines
A variety of embroidery hoops
A need to adjust things - in confined spaces
and has to keep borrowing my tools ...

Well obviously - her own small screwdriver set :-)

Having seen some of my recent acquisitions - nothing else was going to be suitable!

An emergency blip as I spent a lot of the afternoon in a video call with our son helping him sort out some wiring issues in his new flat.
A steep learning curve for him, but he'll have a whole new set of skills quite soon.

I did get myself something ... in the extra.  
{stop reading now unless you like geekery}
An Ethernet switch to connect the non-WiFi PC and printer I use for my photography.   Since the OpenReach chap redid the wiring into our house last week, the speeds have increased* and the error rate dropped. Connecting via powerline adaptors was not getting full speed so I've put in a WiFi to Ethernet adaptor and put the switch on the output.
Whizzy Whizzy!   Sadly - my photography will be no better.
* 45MB/s d/l 12MB/s u/l which is not bad for us being ~600 metres from the cabinets and no fibre in the village (yet)   Well - there will be fibre somewhere, just not in our internet feeds.
Yes - I did spill an espresso over the cables at some point!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.