Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

First Restful Day

Unfortunately for L, she was due to be at work today.  She works at the hospital and was still feeling the effects of the flight on Christmas Eve, so when she got there she visited A&E and luckily was able to see someone quite quickly.  Funnily enough they had heard about the incident and the diverted aeroplane, so she became quite a topic of interest.

L has suffered a few car accidents over the years, always being rear-ended. As a result she can develop pins and needles across her body from trauma around her neck.  She said the lady she saw was very sympathetic and while it wasn't appropriate to have a scan or X-ray, she was provided with some medication to lessen the symptoms.  She was advised to rest and relax so she came back home.

I started the ball rolling on insurance claims and discussions with the holiday company, as well as speaking to the AAIB about the flight incident, as I feel it ought to be investigated, given the injuries that occurred.  While news reports continue to describe them as minor, I don't think anything that could cause broken arms and ribs, sprains, neck injuries, etc, should be ignored.  Certainly it would be notifiable if in a work situation here in the UK.

It was only as I saw a number of milestones coming up amongst people I follow that I realised that it was my 12th anniversary of starting on Blipfoto.  Hard to come to terms with so many consecutive posts of an image taken on the day.  

I wouldn't still be here if it wasn't for the wonderful friendships I have made and support received over the years.  I really find it more difficult each year and I have resorted to using the phone camera more and more to grab an image, rather than the more considered use of my 'better' cameras.

Thank you for everyone that still takes the time to visit my journal, particularly those who continue to encourage me by commenting regularly.  You know who you are.  I don't deserve such friends as I struggle to reciprocate.  My only justification is that I put my energy into supporting the whole of the site by my work behind the scenes, which I know is appreciated by the community at large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.