Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Digging My Potatoes

If anyone tells you some time in the summer that if you plant a batch of seed potatoes then, you would be able to harvest a good crop of salad potatoes at Christmas, spit in his eye.  After planting, watering, feeding, nurturing and caring for them, this was it; the entire crop, ten seed potatoes produced this paltry lot out of three potato growing bags.

It's a bit different from the last time I grew potatoes; in the old house we had the garden landscaped and the new soil seemed very sterile, so I thought I'd grow a few potatoes in one of the beds to improve it.  I think I cropped enough spuds to have kept all the fish and chip shops in the east of England going for a month.  I stored them as best I could but inevitably most of them got wasted.  The soil was much better though.

I may try again next year with the growing bags but I'll plant them at a more conventional time.  Hopefully that will make digging my potatoes a more worthwhile task.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.