KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Rainy walk number two

Rainy day, wild walks,
panto attempt, new skirt and
cooking comfort food.

Busy day, Ben had rubbish bloods in the night and then couldn’t settle from 3am, he was saying he couldn’t stop thinking about his walking poles. So frustrating. I managed to get him settled, talking about going on a morning walk with them and he actually fell asleep around 4 and slept til 6:45, massive win. The walk was a disaster though as it was perishingly cold and super wet. Mr KCNQ2Haiku was chilled to the bone and when one of Ben’s walking stick feet fell off I tried to help but stabbed myself in the finger and proceeded to bleed over everything for the remainder of the walk, including on my new walking boots and the fridge and floor when I got home! Pressure and plaster now applied and no serious harm done.
We had decided a few weeks ago to book tickets to the local panto at the rheged centre in Penrith, we knew Ben might struggle but with two of us there we thought we could handle it and he might have fun.. so, yes he had fun, he shouted out, clapped hands, sang along and did the actions.. for about 15 minutes but then persistently asked to leave so we cut it short. Overall I think it was a win and he’s been chatting about it and singing the songs he remembered this afternoon! It’s a lovely kind of craft/cultural centre and we had a wander through the food hall, art gallery and shops on the way out. I bought a lovely skirt in the sale! I’m very chuffed. And there were brass band players outside so it was very festive.
We had a less wet walk this afternoon (see photo) but still cold and then I spoke to my mum and put a beef stew in the oven.
Sitting by the fire now and waiting for it to be my turn with Ben!
Happy Friday :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.