I Witness

By KangaZu

First Snow ...

... geese of the winter.

Whilst I was out yesterday I had my first sighting of some snow geese migrating through our area.  And wouldn't you know it ... I didn't have a proper camera with me at the time!  Shame on me!

Fast forward to today ... 

Early this afternoon we went out looking to see if we could find some snow geese again.  They never seem to be in the same place day after day ... but we were lucky enough to spot some on our way to Louise Moore Park for a walk.  The sheer volume of these lovely geese that migrate through here is astounding.  I've added a photo in Extras that shows just a small portion of the tens of thousands of geese we saw today.  They are on their way South to their non-breeding grounds ... probably ending up in North & South Carolina.  And they will return North in the Spring.  

Such a beautiful sight to see them all take flight.  And, boy, what an incredible sound, too.  Please view full screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.