Again and Again

By Ripitup

Moving on up

At some silly o'clock and reading a blip about someone having taken their car for an MOT it dawned on me.  I had forgotten to take my car for its annual MOT.   
Another oversight.  These are more frequent of late as I try and focus on the moment and let other stuff drift on by.  It is, I think, a helpful self preservation tool but clearly it has some negative impact too.    I have never really taken to using the calendar within my phone.  I used to have physical diaries, even a filofax for a while.  More recently I had a giant wall planner.  It lived inside my kitchen cabinet but I took it down when the kitchen was replaced and never put it back.  2024 ...decisions, decisions.
The garage of choice for said MOT did not open until 8.30am.  I deposited Bob at 8.30, with instructions to keep him overnight, as they had no appointments for today.  I walked to the office, my heavy  desktop packed in a large rucksack and dragging me towards the ground with every step.
I WhatsApped (when did that become a thing?) dull progress updates to Al and he reciprocated with desk booking updates as the previous day it appeared that I might be in the office with only the persons opening building, post and reception desk.

Taking pictures on the hill is a good excuse to catch a breath and bagged me a blip too.  Pausing and deep breathing on the hill is likely a bad idea as it is recognised as an area with poor air quality. Today there was little traffic so I will probably be ok.  The building in the picture was once offices but is now apartments.   

It was my last working day of the year and the last day before Al returns to his actual job.  We have lotto tickets and crossed fingers.   

The garage called at 4.40pm to say the MOT was done but with only an hour until they closed and already on route to the supermarket with Mrriu, I decided Bob could stay there anyway.

Sainsburys, pizza and rum to wind up the day. I had forgotten to put my Garmin back on in the morning kerfuffle (what a lovely word). Did those steps still count I wondered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.