If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Zamioculcas zamiifolia

I seem to be doing rather a lot of emergency blips at the moment, so here is another one.  I blame the weather.  A plant I have only ever known as Zamioculcas although I gather it is commonly known as ZZ plant.  Please Please Please not Zee Zee we aren't American despite the efforts of some to change our pronunciation to American.  Z is pronounced Zed in English.  Rant Over.

My plant hasn't been doing very well of late so it was a pleasant surprise to find not one but two new shoots developing.  The plant is said to have an air purifying effect.  Its care seems to favour forgetful owners as it requires longish gaps between watering and not too much water.  Also, they like to be pot bound to the point where the pot is distorted (assuming it is a plastic pot).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.