Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Countdown

So, the final post for 2023. I've retreated to my room to be nearer to Little Man should the fireworks at midnight wake him up. The Dutch love their fireworks and tend to go crazy on New Year's, with everyone letting them off. They'll be released for hours afterwards as well. They've also already started as people have been letting fireworks off regularly since before it got dark. It's been about 7 years since I was last in the Netherlands for New Year's and I remember it was pretty crazy.

Looking back over the last twelve months, I've been forced to realise how much has changed since I posted on New Year's Eve 2022. I never thought that I'd be in the Netherlands with Little Man, living in my parents' attic, and coming to terms with a failed marriage. Looking for something to photograph and then posting it here has been a driving force to ensure I've kept looking outwards, beyond the bubble that surrounds me and those closest to me. My son is the biggest part of my life and I want to keep him safe, happy and healthy.

Who knows what 2024 will bring? Changes, I'm sure, but only knows exactly what.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.