I Witness

By KangaZu

California Vacation ...

… Day 8: Oceanside Pier Day.

We had a busy but fantastic day spent with my mom at some of our favorite California places and ending with an evening spent with my sister, BIL, niece and her new husband!

As I’ve said before … we like to make the most of our vacations so on the way to Oceanside Pier we stopped at the Vista Gardens in Vista, CA.  We had a lovely time here … although there was one scary thing that happened.  We were near the turtle pond when a mom and four young children showed up. At one point on the young girls approached the pond and for some reason stepped into the water! She took two or three steps before going totally under!  There must have been a drop off in the water that was unseen and she panicked.  I was watching her and saw her go under and shouted “get her out!”  Thankfully her mom also saw her and rushed right over and grabbed her out.  Of course, she was soaking wet, scared and crying by this time … but she seemed okay.  Crisis averted.

My Extra #2 is from these lovely gardens. And includes a new hummingbird for me … a beautiful Allen’s Hummingbird.  The photo is the best but I simply had to include this shot. 

After spending about an hour at these gardens we headed to Oceanside Pier … my favorite place to visit whilst in Cali!

As you can imagine I took loads of pictures here!  So many that I had enough for two collages!  My main photo plus an Extra of the birds!  The weather was beautiful and we enjoyed being out in the sunshine.
We were back at my mom’s by 2:30 and relaxed for the afternoon.  Later on my sister, BIL, niece and her new husband came over for dinner.  We had a great evening and it was lovely to see everyone. 


Backblipped: December 31, 2023 … talk about waiting for the 11th hour to post these!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.