HelHSS

By HelHSS

A Sled

Day nine in the country.

Temperature about -20. Overcast, some wind.

Very cold because of the wind. I wasn't out at all. Mr S, however, went walking to the center, a grocery shop and clock shop. When came back he told, there wasn't so cold at all...

I took a picture from the door of my kicksled or spark, or how do you call it. It's very old, about 150 years old means of moving, originally from Sweden. The sled was invented in Sweden in the 19th century as an ice vehicle for use in the archipelago. The kicksled is in common use in Sweden, Norway and Finland, especially where roads are not sanded or salted, mostly in the countryside. Nowadays it's mostly used by old women in the country.

This mine is child sized. A great invention. As a chlid I had still smaller and red one that I kept very long time as a memory until there weren't room for it anymore.

Do you know it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.