HelHSS

By HelHSS

Old recipe

I made a date cake for Christmas, now eaten. It wasn't enough, I wanted to have more. Decided to make a different one, from buttermilk. Again one traditional thing. Mother made it quite often when I was young. Now it's nostalgia and I don't make it often either. Actually I had forgotten I have the old recipe of mother's in the old cookbook I once bought from an antique store or something, see Extra no. 119. It's a bit different, more simple, from today's recipe. Here in English.
.............
1.5 dl buttermilk
1 teaspoon of soda
1 dl sugar
1 dl of syrup
0.5 tsp chopped cloves
1 1.5 dl raisins
1 dl melted margarine or butter
3 dl wheat flour

All ingredients are mixed together in the order mentioned above. The mixture is poured into a greased, floured pan with crushed breadcrumbs and baked in a good oven temperature for 45 min - 1 hour.
.............
Note that the cake is advised to be baked in a good owen temperature, it may be quite a difficult task for modern people used to all ready-made solutions:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.