The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Remembering the children of Gaza

Outside the MP's office, a daily vigil is held in support of Palestinians. As I stood there, the names and ages of children were being read out; all children who'd died in the recent and ongoing conflict. 

I was shopping, but really just getting out for air and the sight of other people. Had a hot chocolate in the mall, and then went to meet V in between her house viewings. She's got a Saturday job which has now morphed into her full time job at an estate agent's: she left the surgery yesterday. I think the new job will suit her better than being a receptionist. 

We walked up to her next viewing together, then I garnered more jigsaw puzzles and sundry items, and Steve drove me down to a charity shop, where I dropped them off. I'd already taken two bags down earlier, to different shops. 

The reason for this was that S wanted to help me sort out the living room, but I knew that I'd have to do a lot of pre-sorting. I ended up throwing out most of the surplus paperwork from my seven-year stint as a card seller. (Don't worry, folks, I still have a few boxes of cards left to sell, and the addresses of the faithful ....)

The evening was spent, as usual, with television  and jigsaws. This is a back blip so I can't tell you what we watched, but there isn't a lot on.....oh no! I've just remembered....it was An Officer and a Gentleman. I wanted to see what it was like, 40 years on. I still want to slap Richard Gere's character Zack Mayo  for carrying 'Paula' out of the factory in his arms, after she'd specifically told him that she'd be moving on to the next raw recruit the moment he got his wings!

'Love lifts us up where we belong'. Discuss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.