twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

As the clock struck midnight, there was lots of banging and explosions; a rare old cacophony.

About an hour later, I noticed the constabulary closing off the road as I was heading to bed.

After a usual breakfast thing for Alex, She announced Her imminent arrival with the dog for a sunny shoreline stroll from Silverknowes. 

However, as I set off on the bike,my path was impeded by Lothian and Borders finest and I could see forensics officers up outside the Anchor.

Just immediately prior to the banging, there was other banging... the story seems to be that a previously convicted gun man (served 11 years) had been shot whilst leaving the Anchor at 2350. 

So yeah  sobering to be able to see the site of a shooting from the bedroom window.

Anyway I met Her and the hound and a decent woodland / grassland / shoreline wander with no gales or precipitation was a boon. 

Home for lunch; She exited homewards and I had a quiet afternoon booking Friday's lunch, reading, sleeping, watching some sport before I was called into action and produced meatballs/ goulash for my adoring public.

A beer and the carnage of Anfield rounded of the 1st day of 2024. I'd better take the foot off the gas; I'll never keep this pace up for another 364 days.

Happy New Year y'all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.