Arachne

By Arachne

Reminders

I realised as I left a house party this evening, somewhat the mellower for wear (and after several lovely exchanges with people half my age - how I enjoy the next generation!) that I'd locked up my bike right opposite the street where I took my first ever blip twelve years ago today. I had only my phone with me but this is a bit of nostalgia. I'm not linking to the first because it was an even worse pic than this but I'm ever so glad where it's brought me.

In a very different memory-churn, I went to see the film version of Amadeus this afternoon. I remember feeling when I saw it on stage, roughly half my blip-life ago, that the theme was mediocrity. This time I felt it was much more about an individual's relationship with 'God', either loving (Amadeus) or hating.

Despite having seen the stage version for real and as an NT Live production during Covid, I had completely obliterated from my memory that the play is weighted with some heavier bits of my own personal history. It was as hard to shake those off this afternoon as it was the previous two times and I was glad to be with a very good friend who knew the context.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.