Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Bye Abu Dhabi

We arrived just before midnight after a loooonnnngggg flight. I couldn’t get comfortable as I think I was dehydrated, which I fixed, but didn’t sleep. I got free lounge access - so stretched out on a comfy chair after having a much-needed shower. No food wanted after a carb heavy journey. An early light brekkie at 530, a snack at 730, then headed to the gate. Five hours to Athens, lunch served at 10.15am - more carbs! I arrived just after 12, got my bags, put them in storage and went to visit a friend. She can’t understand why I’d put myself of living in expensive London with a long commute! Fair point!
Back to the airport to repackage my bags to suit the budget carriers specific requirements, queued to checkin, got some salad and chips, watched mayhem at the departure gate and boarding and at 22.20 we were on our way.
The pilot announced new year at Greek time, said he would at Italian time and we landed at midnight, with a few claps, fireworks in the distance and wishes of a happy new year. We were the second plane, by 15 seconds, to land at Gatwick in 2024.
Wishing everyone a peaceful, rewarding and healthy 2024.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.