Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Unpacking

After arriving at midnight we didn’t have long to wait for our bags and I headed to the train station. Sorry, it’s closed, we don’t have the staff to keep it open, we were told. There are no trains. What!!! How do I get home? Try National Express but no buses until after 3am, no trains until 5am. I asked in the ever increasing taxi queue if anyone wanted to share a cab. A woman going to Sydenham did, we were quoted a fare and shared it. Probably not much less for me, but significantly less for her.

No transport but the luxury of a taxi is a first world problem, but why can’t a rail system be fixed but wars fought?

Grateful to get to bed for a few hours. It was a long, slow day, unpacked, walked a bit, watched tv, didn’t eat much - all carbed out after my plane trips.

The knee rug was from Dad to keep me warm - a useful sized rug!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.