Sports Day

Today was Sports Day at school and it was amazing!!
I was convinced it would be cancelled as the forecast was so terrible - rain, rain, rain..... But it held off, woohoo!!
I hadn't realised Miss L's class were involved so it came as a nice surprise to be able to leave her with her teachers and watch them both in peace.
Mr K and Nana came too so the Little Misses had lots of support!
I'll try not to gush on for hours about how sweet it was and how proud I was of both of them. But it was and I am. Incredibly!
Miss E came second in her sprint and was giddy about her silver medal sticker, Miss L was hilarious - when it came to her race she stood on the start in a fabulous superhero pose and ran the first ten feet with her arm outstreched. She managed to run in a straight line and came third, woohoo!!!!
Miss E's second race was a team "holiday" relay sprint. They had to hand a sun hat and a bucket and spade to each other after running up and down the track. The less said about our team's effort the better...... Ha ha!!!
They saved the best race for last - a baton relay between both Reception classes. It was like the Olympic 100m final - every one was roaring and cheering the kids on, the teachers threw all impartiality to the wind!
Our team went behind at the start, then caught up and took the lead.
Tension mounted.
Miss E was the anchor runner and our victory depended on her.
There was an incident with the baton handover and we were behind.
I made a complete show of myself, leaping to my feet and bellowing "Run, Miss E, Run!!!!" at the top of my voice.
And screaming and waving and jumping up and down as she sprinted up the track to the turn.....
And back down.
To victory!!!!
Fanbloodytastic!!
I lost my voice but I was a very proud Mummy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.