DaveyH

By DaveyH

Wiggett

Meet Wiggett.  He/she (not sure yet) is a grey seal born between the fishermen's huts at Winterton just before Christmas. As far as I know he has not been near the sea and does not yet know what it looks like!

He is about 4 weeks old and is now "flying solo" as Mum has left him/her to fend for itself. He is in the  process of shedding the white fluffy coat seals are born with, and growing the grey waterproof coat which will help him as he grows. 

I was seal wardening at Winterton today and assigned to look after him, keeping humans at a distance to ensure he is not disturbed. It rained for most of my shift and the cold wind picked up as time went on but we still saw many visitors.  Little Wiggett slept through my entire shift, waking up only once, to have a stretch and adjust position.  

This was shot on my mobile phone at around 15m (recommended separation between human and seal is 10m) zoomed in and heavily cropped, hence the rubbish quality. Also my waterproofs are still drying out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.