Frontier

By Frontier

Countdown

Jennifer Lopez - Waiting for Tonight

It was great to have a gig at Shooters for New Years Eve. I love DJing there because it’s easy going and the customers and staff are really friendly. As there is always a mixed crowd, you can blend a massive mix of music and always get someone dancing.

I played my usual routines with r’n’b to start with from the 90s, then when more younger people started to come in, it’s straight to the more electronic pop with tinges of reggaeton, and some k-pop. I also played rock and ska for about 30 minutes (The Red Hot Chilli Peppers, 311, Aerosmith, etc).

As there were a lot of Brazilians I moved into Baile Funk for a large portion of time (probably about an hour) as I got positive feedback from the crowd to play more. I had some kids politely ask for Anitta, so I can’t say no. I’m a little concerned as families are present, the lyrical content of the songs as I don’t speak Portuguese, so hopefully the lyrics don’t make anyone blush (although I suspect they do), then at the count down it’s just party house bangers and crowd favourites like Earth, Wind and Fire, the Village People, ABBA and Michael Jackson. Everyone’s a winner.

Thank you to the staff at Shooters for looking after me and the customers, they look like they had a good time and ate well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.