Frontier

By Frontier

First Dawn

Okonski - Runner Up

After the gig, I made it to my friend’s house for a late night catch up and got to meet their young daughter. It was nice to chill with them and the Mrs because they’re close friends. I can be myself and it feels good.

By the time we got home, I had a shower and waited for the sun to rise. The Mrs always wants to see the sun rise as is tradition here. Normally I’m drunk from the night before from a gig and can’t make it, but thanks to the fact I didn’t drink this evening (and that’s a mighty feat for the night) I could enjoy it peacefully from my balcony.

This year I’ve had long stretches without alcohol, the longest being 7 weeks, and averaging about 1-2 weeks regularly, breaking the run at gigs or for a special moment (the countdown I had a glass of sparkling next to my glasses of orange juice). It’s nice not needing to drink. It’s nice being present with what’s in front of me.

Here’s to 2024. Best wishes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.