KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Pac-man

Early wakes.  Busy
days: walks; shops; new play centre
and training carers.

Ben woke up just before 4am and didn't go back to sleep. He argued with me for a bit and eventually he settled with books for about half an hour before I decided he needed the iPad, to stop him blowing.  We went for a walk this morning with Leo and Mr KCNQ2Haiku and Ben was really agitated about his trekking pole from Christmas, he keeps fiddling with it and breaking it and then denying he's fiddled and denying that it's broken but still being generally upset at the world and everyone in it.  It's a bit draining.  After lunch I took him for a taster session at a local gaming charity, they cater for anyone with any disability and have a range of computers and consoles set up for young people to access and potentially build relationships by playing together.  It's a very lovely idea.  Ben loved the set up but it was empty of other people so the proof of the pudding, so to speak, will be in how he gets on next week when it's full of other kids!  The photo is of him playing pac man on an arcade machine!  I wasn't jealous at all :-/ Well, maybe a smidge! It reminds me of the days of playing bomb jack on our old Atari ST!  Anyway, the only down side was that his bloods had been very high, I'm not sure why, maybe the anticipation of it all? So it took a bit of aggressive insulin giving to sort him out before the carers came for a couple of hours, they're still shadowing me to see how to manage his bloods and I was worried I would not be a good example with him being as high as he was!  It worked out in the end, they are getting used to giving insulin through the pump handset and trying to understand his speech and his behaviours, I'm really hoping it won't be long until they can take him out on their own so it gives me a break.  
In other news Ben wants to clear out a cupboard, so I had better go.. you can count on him for an unusual obsession!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.