Smoked Mackerel Pate

I've noticed that there seems to be a trend in England for chains of faux-french brasseries / bistros in major cities. Last night we ate in Cote in either Notting Hill or Holland Park or whatever the trendy end of Queensway / Bayswater is called. The staff are either french or have been schooled in speaking with a faux french accent.

Tonight we ate in Bistrot Pierre in Harrogate as I was craving french fries!

Here is a picture of the Smoked Mackerel Pate Topped With Creme Fraiche I had for appetiser. It was fabulous. If I hadn't already ordered what turned out to be a disappointing version of Boeuf Bourguignone, I'd have ordered a second Mackerel Pate with fries for my main!

Then disaster struck and I had some sort of allergic reaction to the wine, my nose got blocked and I could only breathe through my mouth. I was gutted and had to switch to water after only two glasses of an excellent sparkling Rose de Saumur. Getting old is no fun at all :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.