Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

North

Up, checked my Premium Bonds draw (won again but only modestly), packed, some ricotta pancakes in memory of Bill Granger, then hit the road. Nice to break the journey…first at S’s to drop belated Christmas presents and catch up, then at P’s. Between Nottingham and Yorkshire there was a lot of evidence of flooding alongside the road and surrounding fields…everywhere is just sodden.
He was on pretty good form, saying how good the Christmas lunch had been. I took him in the various sets of books, photos and papers that I’d brought up and found some space on his bookcase for them all. We chatted for a while and I showed him the pictures of his house to let him see all the work that’s been done, and of T scattering Diesel’s ashes as he’d requested.
Back on the road….listening to Any Human Heart by William Boyd again which kept me involved and interested all the way. One heavy shower of rain coming through the Borders but very lucky that it had stopped by the time I got home, and that I got a parking space right outside the flat…phew!
Heating and kettle on, then an evening of catch up TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.