This is the day

By wrencottage

Lake District Cottages

All my five bird feeders were looking very dirty today, so I emptied them all and brought them in to give them a good scrub in soapy water, followed by a spray of disinfectant, before drying and re-assembling them. It was two or three hours before I was able to put them back out into the garden and re-fill them and, as a result, the garden was eerily quiet, with very little bird activity, except for the few poor souls who kept flying towards where they expected to find some tasty morsels, only to swoop on past forlornly when they realised there was nothing there. I felt so mean, watching them!

This evening we had a lovely FaceTime with our eldest son and his partner, who are spending a week in a cottage in Elterwater village in the Langdale valley, which is our family’s special place. I thought I would post this shot of an embroidery done by my mother showing some typical Lake District cottages, which hangs on my craft room wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.