talloplanic views

By Arell

Coastering along

Sometimes it feels like no sooner have I put up my Christmas decorations than it's time to take them down again.  I would normally allow myself the enjoyment of at least the full twelve nights but everyone else round my way seems to have assumed New Year's Day as the date that Christmas ends, and if I'm honest, my tree's a bit in the way.  While taking the lights off the tree, unwrapping them from the branches so quickly and easily to cast them in a pile on the floor it occurred to me how elegant a demonstration of the law of entropy it is (if only to create order out of disorder again when wrapping them neatly for next time).

While putting the decorations back in their box I found a paper bag I never knew I had.  Within in it, carefully wrapped in tissue paper was a wooden star to hang on my tree, and alongside it were these two coasters.  The one on the left is Victoria Street, often thought Edinburgh's prettiest street, while the one on the right shows the rambling posh flats of Ramsay Gardens, near the castle.  I think these must have been a present from Mum and Dad within the last few years, but I'm afraid I don't remember when.  The artwork reminds me of Edinburgh Sketcher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.