tempus fugit

By ceridwen

The joy of... charity shops

I've been getting rid of lots of stuff lately but that doesn't stop me from buying more. Mainly in charity shops. I cannot resist them. It's another form of foraging I reckon, whether a quick scan or a more focussed browse.

There are three such shops in my little town and I probably check out at least two of them every week. Like fungi, fresh stuff can crop up very quickly: there one day, gone the next. I'm very selective and only get things that really appeal, or have a use.

Today I had  two brief timeslots before and after my stint in the heritage centre. The first shop yielded the Portuguese pottery bowl decorated with a turnip. A turnip! It appeals to me  because there's a Portuguese recipe arroz com grelos which is a kind of simple risotto with turnip tops that I always make when I have turnips tops. Northern Spain also values these  leafy greens - well, why wouldn't you? Nowadays we rarely see turnips for sale, let alone their tops.

Later I popped into the Animal Welfare shop (it raises money for rescued cats and dogs). It's a friendly little place where the volunteers chat and gossip. Running my eye over the bookshelves, filled mostly with light fiction, I spotted the Eric Ravilious book. I love his work and don't have anything on it. A feast - and in mint condition.

Both items cost £1 each.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.