Mother nature's ferny heart

The ferns are producing the most fascinating sculptures as they unfurl and I loved the way this one was unfolding revealing the heart shape of its central fronds. If you look at a larger view (click lower case "l" key) you can clearly see the cuckoo spit both on the stem and on the far tip of the left frond. The spit is formed by the nymph of the Froghopper insect and it protects the baby insect from predators and keeps it insulated against all weather conditions as it grows. The spit is apparently formed by the nymph as it sucks sap from the host plant and then excretes it as an acrid tasting froth.

Also on my walk the dogs and I were serenaded by a pair of meadow pipits who I suspect had a nest of young nearby so we kept well away so as not to disturb them.

I am late blipping tonight as in the early evening I had a wonderful visit from Gladders, wifie and Gus who were on their way further north for a holiday. Although the morning had been very cloudy the evening was glorious and we all sat outside in the garden enjoying a cuppa and strawberries from the greenhouse. Gus was impeccably behaved and Bruce was almost on his best behaviour having first gently let Gus know that Cara was his girl!

Ps. I have a feeling that my fern might in fact be bracken! Very confusing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.