The Wren

By TheWren

Closed until further notice

My morning started unusually early - at 3:54am to be precise - with lots of rumbles from the kitchen. I discovered Cara bumbling around rather frantically in her big collar with Bruce looking on bewildered. I thought she might want to go out and so put the plastic sleeve on her foot and let her out. However the next thing I knew was that the bandage had been wheeked off with a deft move of the sore paw against the plastic collar. I have to admit that I was non too impressed standing out in the garden in my PJ's, in the rain, and wondering how on earth I was going to keep the wound clean, dry and away from temptation. I worked out that I had another five hours before I could take her back to the vets for a new bandage and so, as I had nothing suitable in the house, I put an old sock over the wound and took her into my bedroom so the pair of us could get some rest but where I could also keep alert to her movement in case she tried to take the sock off.

The day dawned fully and more positively for the three of us. Cara now has a new bandage, I have some extra in case of necessary repair work and Bruce has a smart new look having had his summer (?) trim. The walk with Bruce was wet and windy but enjoyable nonetheless, and I loved the look of these foxgloves whose blooms seemed content to stay closed until further notice!

Cara would like to thank you for all the words of sympathy. She promises me that she will try and be good from now on as she is missing her walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.