Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Titchfield Haven

The weather and various commitments meant no visit to the coast over the Christmas break, so with a calm, dry and with dare one say sunnier day forecast I rectified that with a trip down to Titchfield Haven between Southampton and Portsmouth.  This is a lovely quiet coastal area with the added benefit of a National Nature Reserve on the adjacent marshy wetlands.

The nature reserve was definitely a day for wellies, however there were more birds around than I've seen recently, mainly Canada geese, oystercatchers and various ducks. I was delighted to spot a marsh harrier sitting on a fence pot, probably young or female from what I can tell by the markings, though it was along way away even for my 500mm long plus 1.4x extender.; a heavily cropped shot in extras.

Sunset fell as I was heading back to the car, and I just had time to capture some quick shots before my parking ticket expired.  The main shot is taken from across the small harbour, home to yachts from the local sailing club and numerous seabirds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.