Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Huntress

I was sitting quietly in my hide, enjoying a gentle snowfall and the soft chirps of little birds - when suddenly, everyone scattered and the alarm call went out.  I quickly shifted position in the hide to see out one of the side openings ... and there she was!  A big female Cooper's hawk assessing the situation from the top of one of the cherry trees.  It is rare that I have a chance to shoot a hawk this close without looking through double-pane glass windows so this was a nice treat.  I believe she's been hanging around most of the day and I suspect she will eventually be successful in her quest for a hot meal.  I hope not to witness it but I won't interfere.  Anyway, she's a nice addition to my 2024 YardBirds list. 

As you can see, the snow has started.  I have no idea how much we will get - forecasts seem to be anywhere between 6 and 12 inches.  Just hoping that the temps stay cold enough that it doesn't change over to ice.  It should stop by mid day tomorrow which gives us lots of daylight hours to clear - and gives me more opportunities to photograph birds-in-snow tomorrow morning!  

I talked to mom and dad this morning.  Happy to see that Dad continues to feel better after his very bad fall in December.  

Hubs and I are tucked in for the rest of the day (other than some more trips to the hide for me).  Jax has been happily snoozing in front of the fire most of the day, with a few breaks to play.  He's actually a surprisingly mellow dog most of the time.

Hubs and I watched "Sliding Doors" last night - it was enjoyable but nothing especially noteworthy.  I wonder what we will watch tonight???  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.