Still Rockin'

By RockArea

A Walk Down the Granite Tramway

A chilly morning made colder by a strong east wind but the sunlight was lovely. I drove up to Dartmoor and parked at Haytor Down. I set off to walk down the granite tramway to Holwell Tor. The granite tramway is a rail system built of granite in the 18th century to transport granite from the quarries behind Hay Tor down to the Stover Canal (approx 5 miles and a drop of about 320 metres). You can see an icy part of the route in my extra.

My walk was about 3 miles I suppose. the shot I liked best was my main blip. It's the view from going up Holwell Tor looking across to the back of Haytor Rocks. The cold wind was in my face on the walk back and with my eyes streaming, I was pleased to get back to the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.